Announcing the unsung heroes of games development – Game Dev Heroes shortlist revealed

string(0) ""
Game Dev Heroes Shortlist Announced

After receiving hundreds of nominations, the Game Dev Heroes shortlist has been announced this week.

There are some extraordinary people on the list, and it’s wonderful to see some of our clients and friends appearing on there. It’s fantastic to be supporting such an impressive range of people, all nominated by co-workers, bosses, friends and colleagues who see them as a game dev hero. We’re really proud to be involved. As part of the judging panel, we’ll now be going away to cast our votes, ahead of the winners being announced at the Game Dev Heroes drinks reception on the 10th July in Brighton.

This, of course, means that we’ll be there – so be sure to say ‘Hi’ if you’re attending! Our team will be at Develop on Tuesday 10th and Wednesday 11th so let us know here if you’d like to meet up. We’ll even buy you an ice cream!

And without further ado, here’s the shortlist for the Game Dev Heroes 2018 Awards!


John Campbell, Technical Director – Triangular Pixels

Dan Foster, Programmer – Team 17

Nicoll Hunt, Head Honcho – I Fight Bears

Adam Pearce, Software Engineer – Criterion Games

Antti Tuppurainen, Senior Game Developer – Rovio

Ben Ward, Programmer/Designer – Supergonk


Grant Allen, Game Designer – Dlala Studios

James Chew, Writer & Narrative Designer – Failbetter Games

Meg Jayanth, Writer – Freelance

Martin Deacon, Lead Designer – Sumo Digital

Dave Gabriel, Designer – Futurlab

Ben Huskins, Lead Designer – Two Point Studios

Graham Wright, Level Designer – Ubisoft Reflections

Art & Animation

Glenn Brace, Art Director – nDreams

JaeSeung Choi, Senior VFX Supervisor – Splash Damage

Emma Hollingsworth, Lead Animator – Coatsink

Anna Hollinrake, Senior Artist – Dream Reality Interactive

Emilie Stabell, Artist – Media Molecule

Aidan Ward, Senior Artist – Red Kite Games

Greg Wisniewski, Lead Artist – Sumo Digital


Stephen Hollis, Technical Sound Designer – Frontier Developments

Sam Hughes, Founder – The Sound Architect / Intern – Remedy Entertainment

Simon James, Audio Director – Coatsink

Jade Leamcharaskul, Game Music ComposerAndy Poland, Audio Designer – Jackbox Games

Gonçalo Tavares, Sound Designer – Codemasters

Bogdan Vera, Audio Programmer – Media Molecule


Sally Blake, Senior Producer – Hammerhead

Jessica Gaskell, Producer – Sumo Digital

Lucía Granda, Senior Producer – NaturalMotion

Constantin Jupp, Release Producer – Media Molecule

Sebastian Long, UX Research – Player Research

Joseph Rogers, Producer – Freelance


James Cubitt, QA Manager – Universally Speaking

Dylan Harfoot, QA Lead – Boss Alien

Lewis Marriott, Senior Lead QA – Ubisoft Reflections

Jamie Oates, QA Team Lead – Outplay Entertainment

Lesleyann White, QA Analyst & Support – Failbetter Games

Lee Wood, QA Tester – TT Games

Marketing and Community

Rita Auta, Senior Marketing Manager – Amazon Appstore

Jamie Finch, Community Manager – Payload Studios

Jakub Klitenik (Koobs), Marketing Executive – Curve Digital

Chris Mullins (shoe.), Community Manager – Splash Damage

Hollie Pattison, PR & Marketing Manager – Ripstone Games

Haley Uyrus, Marketing Manager – Failbetter Games

Jo Worrall, European Brand Manager – Bethesda Softworks


Eddie Beardsmore & Paul Crabb, COO & CCO – Coatsink

Dan Da Rocha, Managing Director – Toxic Games

Thad Frogley, Technical Director – Boss Alien

Heini Kaihu, Head of Studio/VP of Games – Rovio Puzzle Studio

Tara Saunders, Head of Studio Operations – Sony London Studio

Graham Schmidt, Account Director – Heaven Media

Cj Stockton, Development & Resource Manager – Ubisoft Reflections / Ubisoft Leamington

Diversity Champion

Helen Andrzejowska, Director – Ocean Spark Studios

Adam Campbell, Game Acquisition & Product Manager – Azoomee

Des Gayle – Freelance Games Producer

Ann Hurley, Head of Business Development for Games – Testronic

Tamsin O’Luinaigh, Co-Founder & Talent Director – nDreams

Morgan Paul, Programmer – Boss Alien

Michelle Lilley, Senior Release Manager – Sony Interactive Entertainment

Unsung Hero

Marcia Deakin, Games Partnership Director – Next Gen Skills Academy

Bill Donegan, Project Manager – SpecialEffect

David Hayward, Event Organiser – YMPT

Steven Huckle, CEO & Founder – Shark Infested Custard & The Games Hub

Gemma King, Office Manager – Boss Alien

Emma Mark, Associate Facilities Manager – Splash Damage

Albert Marshall, Consultant & Founder – Marshall Media

Sean Oxspring, Technical Designer – Deep Silver Dambuster Studios

Kirsty Rigden, Development Director – Futurlab

Nick Rooke, Director of Development – Sony Interactive Entertainment

Callum Underwood, Head of Europe – Caffeine / Publishing Scout – Raw Fury

If you’ve read all this and are still wondering “What is Game Dev Heroes?”, you check what it’s all about at or email for more info.

Please log in to do this.


Please fill out your details before applying for this job.